Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside still waters,

3 he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

4 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death, [a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

6 Surely goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.

Haven is learning this passage in school and we have been working with her a bit at home. Last night, I couldn’t sleep, so I was thinking about what this passage says. I memorized it as well as a child, (not 4 years old though) but I never really thought much about the actual verses and what they mean to me NOW in my life.

I was thinking about how blessed we are. How Harbin is such a miracle, after 3 losses, and Haven as well. (though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death) I tried not to fear and the Lord truly comforted me like no other person could. He restored those things that I lost, He was WITH me always, even when I didn’t understand why it was happening.

And then this morning, I put olive oil on Harbin’s scalp (it’s supposed to help get cradle cap to go away) and thought about how He anoints us with ‘oil’ and anoints us to be Him to others. So, while I was trying to get Harbin’s cradle cap to go away by rubbing olive oil on his head, :), I began to pray over him, that He would become a mighty warrior, a man of God, gentle and strong at the same time, like his daddy, and his other Daddy. My cup truly does overflow! I am so thankful that the Lord spoke through this verse so many years after I learned it and that my daughter now gets to learn His Word—His goodness and love does follow me, every day, through my children, husband, family and dear friends.

I know this is a long post, but felt like I needed to share what He gave me in my heart as a reminder of His goodness.  I have learned what it means to hide His Word in my heart…I pray that the Lord shows that importance to Haven and Harbin as well. You are never too young……thank you Jesus for the reminder. We love you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

0 responses to “Psalm 23

  1. Kara, this is such a great post. Thanks for sharing your heart. Are you guys living in F-ville? Where are you going to church?

Leave a Reply

